

UNION AND ITS TERRITORY

By- Mr. S. Wasnik (Faculty)

A few words with students......

- These are the topic wise class notes of <u>Indian Constitution</u> for UPSC Civil and Rajyaseva.
- All the articles and related clauses given here are updated up to March 2020.
- I encourage you all to use this as a reference for your study.
- Suggestion, advises, queries and feedback are most welcome in order to improve content further.
- Practice and previous questions based on this topic will be uploaded soon.

PART 1: UNION AND ITS TERRITORY (ART.1-4)

ARTICLE 1-NAME AND TERRITORY OF THE UNION-

- (1) India, that is Bharat, shall be a Union of States.
- (2) The States and the territories thereof shall be as specified in the First Schedule.
- (3) The territory of India shall comprise—
- (a) The territories of the States;
- (b) The Union territories specified in the First Schedule;
- (c) Such other territories as may be acquired.

EXPLANATION

- 1) Name of the country Foreign Name => India, Indian Name => Bharat
- 2) Union => Type of Polity => Federal Polity instead of Unitary.

Word Union shows=>Indian Federation

- 1) Holding together federation
- 2) India is indestructible federation of destructible Units... i.e. units have no right of secession.
- 3) Territory =>As given in the First Schedule
 - 1) Territories of the state
 - 2) Union Territories
 - 3) Acquired Territory

TERRITORY HAS THREE ASPECTS

- (i) The actual land within the national boundaries.
- (ii) The territorial waters along the coastline. This is 12 nautical miles (22.2 km or 13.8 miles) along the coast line.
- (iii) The air space above its territory (there is no international law on the height of this air space.)

TERRITORY AND AREA ARE DIFFERENT.

ACQUIRED TERRITORY

India being sovereign state can acquire foreign territory according to the modes recongnised by International law.......

- ☐ 1) Cession Following Treaty, purchase, gift, lease, plebiscite
- □ 2) Occupation-Hitherto unoccupied by unrecognized ruler
- ☐ 3) Conquest or Subjugation

ACQUIRED TERRITORY IN INDIA → Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Goa, Daman and Diu(From Portuguese), Puducherry (From France)=> Now they are given Union Territory Status, except Goa which is State.

INDIA STAND TODAY

- ☐ Territory
- ☐ States=>28
- ☐ Union Territories =>9
- \Box Acquired Territory =>0



(As on 1st Nov. 2019)

ARTICLE 2-ADMISSION OR ESTABLISHMENT OF NEW STATES.

- ☐ Parliament may by law admit into the Union, or establish, new States on such terms and conditions as it thinks fit.
- □ **Admit =>**Admission of such states that already in existence and not the part of Union of India.
- ☐ To establish, new states=>Admission of such states that do not existence and not the part of Union of India.

EXPLANATION

- ☐ According to SC judgments- Establishment or Admission, new States into Union of India on such terms and conditions as Parliament thinks fit should not be violative of Basic Structure
- ☐ This article has been utilised at once for Chandranagore -A French Colony in 1951.

ARTICLE 3. FORMATION OF NEW STATES AND ALTERATION OF AREAS, BOUNDARIES OR NAMES OF EXISTING STATES.—

Parliament may by law—

- (a) Form a new State by separation of territory from any State or by uniting two or more States or parts of States or by uniting any territory to a part of any State;
- (b) Increase the area of any State;
- (c) Diminish the area of any State;
- (d) Alter the boundaries of any State;
- (e) Alter the name of any State:

TWO CONDITIONS FOR BEFORE APPLYING ARTICLE 3

- 1) Bill of such effect to be introduce in Parliament with prior recommendation of President only
- 2) Before President to give such recommendation he <u>has to get the views of concerned state legislature</u> within certain time.
- However, President is not bound by views of legislature. He may either reject or accept the views.
- In case of UT's with legislature President is to make no reference of such Bill.
- This part is applied to part that already been the part of Union of India.

ARTICLE 4

The laws made under the Article 2 and 3 will not be considered as Constitution Amendment
under the Article 368.
They can be passed as simple legislation with simple majority.
Laws made under the Article 2 and 3 causesthe <u>amendment of the First Schedule and the</u>
Fourth Schedule.

USE OF ARTICLE 3

1) Territory of India as per Constitution of 1950

Part A -9	Part B -9 States	Part C- 10	Part D
Assam	Hyderabad	Ajmer	A & N
Bihar	J & K	Bhopal	.00
Bombay	Madhya Bharat	Bilaspur	7
MP	Mysore	Cooch- Behar	7
Madras	Patiala and East Punjab	Coorg	
OD	RJ	Delhi	
PJ	Saurashtra	НР	
UP	Travancore-Cochin	Kutch	
WB	Vindhya Pradesh	Manipur	
		Tripura	

- 2) Territory of India has undergone changes mainly due to three factors-
 - 1) Integration of Princely states.
 - 2) Reorganization of state \rightarrow Based on Language, Development, Ethnicity, Political, and Autonomy ...etc
 - 3) Up-gradation of Union Territory into a State

3) TERRITORY OF INDIA AS STAND 1956 AFTER 7th CONSTITUTION AMENDMENT -

States-14	UT-6
AP	A & N
Assam	Delhi
Bihar	НР

Bombay	Laccadive, Minicoy Amindivi
J & K	Manipur
KR	Tripura
MP	
Madras	رو م
Mysore	
OD	Ċ.
PJ	
RJ	
UP	
WB	

4) New states and Territories after 1956

State	Year	Number
Gujrat	1960	15 th
Nagaland	1962	16 th
Hariyana	1966	17 th
Himachal Pradesh	1971	18 th
Manipur	1971	19 th
Tripura	1971	20 th
Meghalaya	1971	21 ST
Sikkim	1975	22 ND
Mizoram	1986	23 rd
Arunachal Pradesh	1986	24 th

Goa	1987	25 th
Chhattisgarh	1st Nov 2000	26 th
Uttarakhand	9th Nov 2000	27 th
Jharkhand	15th Nov 2000	28 th
Telangana	2 nd June 2014	29 th
Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir	31st Oct. 2019	
Union Territory of Laddakh	31st Oct. 2019	, Ġ.

POWER OF CESSATION

- ☐ Indian Territory <u>can be ceded to foreign states only</u> after amending the Constitution under the article 368.
- ☐ So far such amendments done are
 - 1)9th CA -1960- Ceding Beruberi to Pakistan=> for giving effect to the Indo- Pak agreement of 1958.
 - 2) 100^{th} CA 2015—Ceding 3 Indian conclaves to Bangladesh \rightarrow for giving effect to the Indobangle Land agreement of 1974 and Protocol of 2011.